Kronos XTR Center Diff Issue

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrettOlbrys

Reaction score
Corally RC's
  1. Kronos XTR
I have never done diff service before, so I have a few questions. I had to remove the center diff because I THOUGHT I stripped the gears because my 2022 Kronos XTR wheels froze and there were metal shavings in the chassis. But after taking it apart, it wasn't the gears at all.

Apparently, two bevel gear screws became loose and started eating into the motor mount, and essentially started to grind it down (pictures attached).

1) Based on the photos, do I need to replace the motor mount?

Since I had the center diff out, I figured I would open it up to check the fluid level. Since I have never opened a diff before, I attached some photos for my questions.

2) Is the diff lubricant supposed to be dark or more clear like fresh engine oil?

3) Does the amount of oil look good?

Last issue, when I was removing the center diff motor mount and parts, a little silicone "something" was sitting in the bottom of my chassis.

4) Any idea what it is, and should there be two or just the one?

Thanks

Brett

IMG_8319.jpeg

IMG_0093.jpeg

IMG_8322.jpeg

IMG_0090.jpeg

IMG_0089.jpeg

IMG_0088.jpeg

IMG_0087.jpeg

Also, when replacing the diff oil, do you disassemble the entire diff and clean off every single gear and part of the old oil before adding the new oil?

1. Change it. Erik van Ravenstein on FB has some nice 7075 ones or get 7075 corally one.

2+3 clean it and change it with more oil. It is open anyway. Take all the parts out to be cleaned.

4. That thing goes in the Swiss steel drive cup. It is a piece of fuel hose. Stops the drive train to moving to much in the xups

Hope it helps bro. Oh and if you close the diff. Use some blue Locktide on the screws. Alu on alu needs Locktide

Last edited:
Yeah, your motor mount is now decidedly second hand! 🤣 But it should still function alright.