HD Servo Saver for Corally Mammoth

305HemiGuy

Member
Messages
7
Reaction score
6
Hi, new Mammoth owner here. I love the truck, but the turning radius is quite wide compared to my other RCs. I saw a video on YT recommending to get the upgraded HD servo saver. Is this the recommended route, or is the stock servo saver adjustable? Thanks in advance.
 

morrjr71

Well-known member
Military Veteran
Messages
358
Reaction score
359
Location
Mechanicsville, MD
Corally RC's
  1. Muraco
  2. Radix
Hi, new Mammoth owner here. I love the truck, but the turning radius is quite wide compared to my other RCs. I saw a video on YT recommending to get the upgraded HD servo saver. Is this the recommended route, or is the stock servo saver adjustable? Thanks in advance.
The servo saver is not likely to be the cause of a wide steering radius. The two most likely causes are: (1) the steering knuckles/blocks are constrained by the design so they can't physically go any farther; or (2) or the servo isn't properly calibrated to the transmitter. If the servo isn't properly calibrated to the transmitter, the transmitter may think the servo is at the end of its throw, when it actually isn't. First, try a factory reset on your transmitter. Then, try resetting the endpoints on your servo to see if you can get any more steering. Check out YouTube for videos on how to do a factory rest and set endpoints for your vehicle.
 

305HemiGuy

Member
Messages
7
Reaction score
6
Thanks for the input guys, before trying the endpoint reset I may just purchase the Kimbrough 124 that @slick2500 suggested since it's really cheap on Amazon. In fact, it looks identical to the HD Servo Saver that Corally sells. I was watching a review of this truck on YT and the reviewer stated that the upgraded servo saver remedied his problem. Eventually I want to switch the servo out for something better. If that route doesn't work I'll try resetting everything.
 

slick2500

Well-known member
Messages
188
Reaction score
227
Location
Rapid City SD
Thanks for the input guys, before trying the endpoint reset I may just purchase the Kimbrough 124 that @slick2500 suggested since it's really cheap on Amazon. In fact, it looks identical to the HD Servo Saver that Corally sells. I was watching a review of this truck on YT and the reviewer stated that the upgraded servo saver remedied his problem. Eventually I want to switch the servo out for something better. If that route doesn't work I'll try resetting everything.
Stock servo is fine, I would run it in my 1/10 2wd Traxxas Stampede and Ecx Ruckus.

-edit- I just noticed you are over on the Ecx Forums as well.
 
Last edited:

305HemiGuy

Member
Messages
7
Reaction score
6
Stock servo is fine, I would run it in my 1/10 2wd Traxxas Stampede and Ecx Ruckus.

-edit- I just noticed you are over on the Ecx Forums as well.
Good to know, I'll leave it alone for now then. And Yes, I am, I recently purchased a now-rare Torment 4WD for a price that was way too to good to pass up 😁
 

slick2500

Well-known member
Messages
188
Reaction score
227
Location
Rapid City SD
Good to know, I'll leave it alone for now then. And Yes, I am, I recently purchased a now-rare Torment 4WD for a price that was way too to good to pass up 😁
Well if it is any help with that the Ecx 4wd was made and designed by Himoto and is based off their E10 platform. Some of the parts work but I know for sure the chassis, center drive shaft and the slipper assemble will not work, the chassis and center driveshafts are different lengths and the slipper is designed differently as well as the diff outputs that go to it and the center driveshaft. IIRC the a arms, shocks, shock towers and f/r driveshafts fit but do not quote me on that.

Himoto Spatha
Himoto-Spatha-E10SC-Chassis4.jpg


Ecx Torment
image-asset (2).jpeg
 
Last edited:

305HemiGuy

Member
Messages
7
Reaction score
6
@slick2500 Thanks man, that's some really helpful information! I'm in the process of doing some updates/upgrades to it...went to the hobby shop this weeken and picked up a set of new Proline tires for it. I also just picked up a new Arrma Senton 4X4 550 brushed. My son & I took both trucks out today and surprisingly that old Dynamite motor is just as fast if not faster than the 550 in the Arrma! I'm really liking the Torment more & more. I plan on getting new dog bones for the Torment next, as well as a new body for my Mammoth and the Torrent.
 

slick2500

Well-known member
Messages
188
Reaction score
227
Location
Rapid City SD
@slick2500 Thanks man, that's some really helpful information! I'm in the process of doing some updates/upgrades to it...went to the hobby shop this weeken and picked up a set of new Proline tires for it. I also just picked up a new Arrma Senton 4X4 550 brushed. My son & I took both trucks out today and surprisingly that old Dynamite motor is just as fast if not faster than the 550 in the Arrma! I'm really liking the Torment more & more. I plan on getting new dog bones for the Torment next, as well as a new body for my Mammoth and the Torrent.
Those motors are probably the same motors with a different sticker on it.
 

PhilthyCo rC

Active member
Messages
20
Reaction score
23
Hi, new Mammoth owner here. I love the truck, but the turning radius is quite wide compared to my other RCs. I saw a video on YT recommending to get the upgraded HD servo saver. Is this the recommended route, or is the stock servo saver adjustable? Thanks in advance.
Hi, new Mammoth owner here. I love the truck, but the turning radius is quite wide compared to my other RCs. I saw a video on YT recommending to get the upgraded HD servo saver. Is this the recommended route, or is the stock servo saver adjustable? Thanks in advance.
Set your steering end points..Turn up the steering dual rate and get upgrade saver and servo horn
 

305HemiGuy

Member
Messages
7
Reaction score
6
@slick2500 I doubt it..the Arrma 550 just took a dump and burned out on the 3rd run :mad: Since it's my son's truck and he's only 6, I'm either going to throw a Dyanamite 12t 550 or Titan 12t 550. He's not ready for brushless just yet, that'll come later. @PhilthyCo rC I'll definitely add those items to my to-do list for the truck, thanks for the suggestions!
 

slick2500

Well-known member
Messages
188
Reaction score
227
Location
Rapid City SD
@slick2500 I doubt it..the Arrma 550 just took a dump and burned out on the 3rd run :mad: Since it's my son's truck and he's only 6, I'm either going to throw a Dyanamite 12t 550 or Titan 12t 550. He's not ready for brushless just yet, that'll come later. @PhilthyCo rC I'll definitely add those items to my to-do list for the truck, thanks for the suggestions!

I burned up 4 of those Dynamite 12t motors in my Ecx Ruckus in the first month I owned it.
And I lost count of how many Titans I have killed. 99.9% of those rtr sealed can brushed motors are junk and a complete waste of time. If you are insistent on staying brushed I would look at a rebuildable motor like this one get the 12t 550 3 slot https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3256802147206438.html?spm=a2g0o.detail.0.0.358c1ef2w0Sh9G&gps-id=pcDetailBottomMoreThisSeller&scm=1007.13339.274681.0&scm_id=1007.13339.274681.0&scm-url=1007.13339.274681.0&pvid=4eccd300-4f4d-4d7a-afb6-dd99e2d5653a&_t=gps-id:pcDetailBottomMoreThisSeller,scm-url:1007.13339.274681.0,pvid:4eccd300-4f4d-4d7a-afb6-dd99e2d5653a,tpp_buckets:668#2846#8107#1934&pdp_ext_f={"sku_id":"12000020133369290","sceneId":"3339"}&[email protected][email protected]!12000020133369290!rec

That being said a 550 brushed motor is too small for a 4wd 1/10 scale vehicle that is why they burn up so fast in the Arrma Mega 4x4s. You can burn those things up easily in a 2wd buggy. Not sure who the moron was that thought a 550 sized motor was fine for a 4x4. Those trucks should come with 775 or 880 brushed motors at minimum.

If it was me and I wanted to keep my Arrma 4x4 brushed I would toss in a Titan 775 https://www.amainhobbies.com/traxxas-775-titan-motor-10turn-16.8-volts-summit-tra5675/p35466 and a Hobbywing WP880 esc https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbyw..._ff9ufOk5WdubxrvsSXqLhbGP-eTyQJ0aApPqEALw_wcB
 
Last edited:
Top